Favorite Black Authors

Since it is Black History Month i wanted to remember some of my favorite books by black authors. I didn’t start off reading black author books. I think every little kid started with Dr. Seuss. I think the first time i read anything black was in school and we were reading Maya Angelou “Why the caged bird sings” in elementary and i thought it was one of the best things i ever heard. So that made me fall in love even more with reading because i was already Sherlock Holmes, and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde books. Anyway i’m straying off topic a little but my favorite black authors would have to be Mary Monroe, Zora Neal Hurston, Terri McMillan  Toni Morrison, Donald Goines and quite a few others who i cannot think of. I think these authors truly bring their characters to life and make you feel that you are actually in the book with them. Can you tell me your favorite authors?

Leave a Reply

